The Comics Industry Celebrates the 2018 Ringo Awards

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND – September 30, 2018 – Comic creative professionals, publishers, retailers, and fans came together Saturday night, September 29, 2018 to socialize, dine, and experience the comic book industry celebrating recognition of their peers, co-workers, and competitors at the 2018 Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards.

This year’s Ringo Awards was sponsored by Presenting Sponsors Cards, Comics & Collectibles and the Baltimore Comic-Con; Gold Sponsors

BOOM! Studios, Geppi Family Enterprises; Silver Sponsors Action Lab Entertainment, Source Point Press, South Carolina Comic-Con,

and Valiant Entertainment; Friendship Sponsor Drawn and Quarterly; and Gift Bag Sponsors Abrams ComicArts, Action Lab Entertainment, Archie Comic Publications, BOOM! Studios, Dark Horse Comics, Diamond Comic Distributors, Harper Collins, IDW Publishing, Lion Forge, Scholastic, Shire Post Mint, TokyoPop, and Valiant Entertainment. The banquet and awards ceremony honoring nominees and winners in professional and fan categories was hosted by the Baltimore Comic-Con and Cards, Comics & Collectibles.
The Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards is an annual celebration of the creativity, skill and fun of comics. The nomination ballot is determined by fans and pros alike.
Katie Cook

The Ringo Awards was honored to present Katie Cook, known as cartoonist of Nothing Special and the multiple award-nominated Gronk, as well as writer on IDW’s My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic and artist on Marvel’s Spider-Man, as the 2018 keynote presenter at the event.

A very special thanks go to the sponsors who donated items to the 2018 Ringo Awards Gift Bags, including Abrams ComicArts, Action Lab Entertainment, Archie Comic Publications, BOOM! Studios, Dark Horse Comics, Diamond Comic Distributors, Harper Collins, IDW Publishing, Lion Forge, Scholastic, Shire Post Mint, TokyoPop, and Valiant Entertainment.
Winners of the 2018 Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards are:
Fan Favorites:
  • Favorite Hero: Mags (Assassin Roommate)
  • Favorite Villain: Arlo (unOrdinary)
  • Favorite New Series: I Love Yoo
  • Favorite New Talent: Quimchee
  • Favorite Publisher: Line Webtoon
Jury and Fan Winners:
  • Best Cover Artist: Michael Cho
  • Best Series: Mister Miracle, DC Comics
  • Best Letterer: Todd Klein
  • Best Colorist: Dave Stewart
  • Best Humor Comic: Batman/Elmer Fudd, DC Comics
  • Best Original Graphic Novel: My Favorite Thing is Monsters, Fantagraphics
  • Best Comic Strip or Panel: Sarah’s Scribbles, Andrews McMeel Universal
  • Best Single Issue or Story: Batman/Elmer Fudd Special, DC Comics
  • Mike Wieringo Spirit Award: Mech Cadet Yu, BOOM! Studios
  • Best Anthology: Mine! A Celebration of Liberty and Freedom for All Benefiting Planned Parenthood, ComicMix
  • Best Non-fiction Comic Work: The Best We Could Do, Abrams ComicArts
  • Best Presentation in Design: Saga, Image Comics
  • Best Webcomic: 1000, Chuck Brown and Sanford Greene
  • Best Kids Comic or Graphic Novel: DC SuperHero Girls, DC Comics
  • Best Inker: Mark Morales
  • Best Writer: Tom King
  • Best Artist or Penciller: Lee Weeks
  • Best Cartoonist (Writer/Artist): Joelle Jones
Hero Initiative Awards:
  • Dick Giordano Humanitarian of the Year Award: Marc Andreyko
  • Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award: Denny O’Neil
In addition, the Baltimore Comic-Con would like to thank those individuals who presented at this year’s award ceremony, including: Keynote speaker Katie Cook; Christie Blanch and Thom Zahler; David and Julia Petersen; Denys Cowan; Jenny Frison and Ramona Fradon; Rob Stull and Gus Vazquez; Louise Simonson; Jeff Parker and Karl Kesel; and Todd Dezago, Craig Rousseau, Mark Waid, and Matt Wieringo. We would also like to thank John Gallagher for his contributions to our program guide for the evening and awards ceremony presentation.
Please join us next year for the third annual Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards taking place at the 20th annual Baltimore Comic-Con on October 19, 2019, and keep an eye on our website and social media accounts below for 2019 ballot information.

About Author