TITLE: OFFWORLDER #1
PUBLISHER: Fanatic Comics
WRITER: Mike Baron
ILLUSTRATOR: Jordi Armengo
COVER: Jordi Armengol
VARIANT COVER: Massimiliano Veltri
VARIANT COVER: Pat Broderick
PRICE: $8
WEBSITE: Fanaticcomics.com
SUMMARY: Seventh century Scotland. Henry Gunn leads his clan in a ferocious battle with Viking invaders led by the Savage Rathgar! Rathgar sees victory finally within his grasp. Gunn and his men, sensing that this may be their last stand, are saved by the approach of three unknown ships. The Vikings flee, not sure if the new uninvited “guests” are friend or foe.
Gunn and his men are saved by the fortuitous approach of Princess Sa’ Ra of Alexandria. Sa’ Ra has been sent on a mission to find a champion. One that she believes will aid her in her time of need. But the “Gods” have an even greater need for this man, Henry Gunn! And if he allies himself with Sa’ Ra and these “Gods”, He will be forever changed!
Will Gunn undergo the transformation to something other than human, and at what cost? The fate of civilization rests on the shoulders of a troubled warrior, husband, and father. What are you willing to sacrifice for all of humanity?
In the tradition of The Stars My Destination and The Silver Surfer, OFFWORLDER is a star-spanning science fiction saga that will keep you riveted from the first page to the very last.
COMMENTS: This is the first chapter in a 5 part mini-series. The story starts off in the library of Alexandria, with Sa’Ra and her people. It quickly moves to Scotland where we meet Henry Gunn and his people who are in an epic battle with the Vikings. With Sa’Ra being Egyptian and the Vikings I was expecting Henry Gunn to be a Celtic Pagan. I was surprised to see he was a Christain and to see him interact with the various gods of the era. Those gods included many of the concepts from the “Chariots of the Gods” novel by Erich von Däniken. There were a lot of ideas and concepts that were presented in this first chapter. Without wanting to spoil the story, it is high-level storytelling with many varied characters with different motivations and a deep unsolved mystery. It ends with you wanting to know more about Hanry Gunn, his family, and his people. Wondering how he will survive. Recommended for fans of history and classic science fiction.

https://www.firstcomicsnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/Review-logo-600x257.pnghttps://www.firstcomicsnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/Review-logo-150x64.pngRik OffenbergerReviews
TITLE: OFFWORLDER #1 PUBLISHER: Fanatic Comics WRITER: Mike Baron ILLUSTRATOR: Jordi Armengo COVER: Jordi Armengol VARIANT COVER: Massimiliano Veltri VARIANT COVER: Pat Broderick PRICE: $8 WEBSITE: Fanaticcomics.com SUMMARY: Seventh century Scotland. Henry Gunn leads his clan in a ferocious battle with Viking invaders led by the Savage Rathgar! Rathgar sees victory finally within his grasp. Gunn and his...