Overwatch League 2020 MVP Announced

With the 2020 Overwatch League season nearing it’s end, the league has announced their MVP.

The Shanghai Dragons’ Byung- Sun Kim, known to gamers and fans as “Fleta,” has claimed the crown of the best Overwatch League player. Previous winners of the award include Seong-Hyun “Jjonak” Bang from the New York Excelsior and Jay “Sinatraa” Won, formerly of the San Francisco Shock. While the previous 2 winners were known for earning the crowns using 1 or 2 characters, Fleta did it adjusting to the ever changing character metas. It led to the term, “Fleta is the meta,” to be used throughout the season.

Fleta’s ability was seen early on when he was on the Atlas team known as Flash Lux in 2017. While the team was under performing, Fleta was the standout. His high percentage of finals blows came to be know as the “Fleta Deadlift.

“MVP is the hardest award to receive in the Overwatch League, and that’s so meaningful to me because it’s picking the best player of all the players in the league,” Fleta said. “It was an honor to even be nominated, and then to get it—I’m just really happy to be recognized for my hard work.”

Fleta now leads his team into the final four of the Overwatch League Playoffs. Other teams include the Seoul Dynasty, Philadelphia Fusion, and the current champions the San Francisco Shock. The Final Four begin play October 8 to crown a 2020 Overwatch League champion.

About Author