(New Bedford, MA/USA—March 16, 2020) The 12th annual 2020 Inkwell Awards, the only national celebration for the art of comic-book inking, will be postponed until September 4 along with its host show, the Great Philadelphia Comic Con!, in Oaks, PA. Voting results and the awards ceremony from the non-profit advocacy will all take place at that time, due to the host show postponement from the recent COVID-19 situation.

Bob Almond, the Inkwells’ founder/director and MC of the event, said, “We know comic-book fans and professionals alike look forward to the results each year, as do the show’s attendees, and we’re sorry to disappoint them. But because CEO and Promoter Christopher Wertz and Director of Artists Alley & Creator Relations Stan Kanopka originally, and Jason Thomsen currently, have been so helpful to us in becoming our new host show, we feel obligated to save everything for the con and the loyal fans who attend.”

Almond said that as the date gets closer and guests and presenters are secured, further announcements will be made on the Inkwell’s website and other media. “Everything is up in the air due to the current crisis, which is understandable.” he added. “We just want everyone to focus on staying safe and healthy until it dissipates. Then we can hopefully get back to normal and celebrate the vital work that ink artists contribute to the industry.”

The Inkwells have five categories: Favorite Inker, Most-Adaptable Inker, the “Props” award for under-recognized professionals, the S.P.A.M.I. (Small Press And Mainstream-Independent), and the “All-in-One” Award for the artist who inks his/her own pencil art. There are also two lifetime achievement awards, the Joe Sinnott Hall Of Fame and the Stacey Aragon Special Recognition Award, or SASRA. All winners will be announced at the Philly show in September.

The Inkwell Awards is the only official 501(c)(3) non-profit organization whose mission is to promote and educate regarding the art form of comic-book inking, as well as annually recognize the best ink artists and their work. Established in 2008, the Inkwells are overseen by a volunteer committee of industry professionals and assisted by various professional ambassadors and contributors. They sponsor the Dave Simons Inkwell Memorial Scholarship Fund for the Kubert School and host the Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame.

About Author