Discover The All New Original Graphic Adventure on May 4, 2019

LOS ANGELES, CA (May 2, 2018) – BOOM! Studios today revealed a first look at LUMBERJANES: THE SHAPE OF FRIENDSHIP FCBD SPECIAL, an all-new comic book arriving in comic shops worldwide on Free Comic Book Day (May 4th, 2019) with an exclusive first look at the upcoming graphic novel.

LUMBERJANES: THE SHAPE OF FRIENDSHIP FCBD SPECIAL exclusively presents the first chapter of the all new original graphic novel reuniting the acclaimed Lumberjanes: The Infernal Compass team of writer Lilah Sturges and artist polterink. When the Lumberjanes discover the hiding place of a group of magical creatures called Pookas, they think they’ve found new friends. But what they don’t know is that the Pookas are tired of hiding, and they’ve found the perfect way to join the outside world…by impersonating the ‘Janes themselves and taking over Camp! To reclaim their identities, the ’Janes will have to work together to remember who they really are…and to help another group of friends accept themselves, too, in a story about looking inside yourself and learning to love who you meet there.

Launched in 2014 under BOOM! Studios’ YA-focused BOOM! Box imprint by series co-creators Shannon Watters, Grace Ellis, Brooklyn Allen, and Noelle Stevenson, Lumberjanes was originally solicited as a limited series, but the overwhelming response from fans transformed it into an ongoing series that has become a New York Times best-seller, earned numerous nominations for prestigious awards including the GLAAD Media Award and the Eisner Awards, and have even crossed over with heroes from the DC Comics Universe (in Lumberjanes/Gotham Academy). The Lumberjanes have expanded to middle-grade novels at Abrams Books, a diverse array of merchandise from pins to patches, and a feature film in development at 20th Century Fox.

“What better way to celebrate Free Comic Book Day than with the adventurous and always exciting Lumberjanes?! In a never-before-seen sneak peek for fans of Mal, Ripley, Jo, Molly, and April, we hit the ground running with a hydra, some calculus, and a strategic application of Riley’s boundless energy,” said Jeanine Schaefer, Executive Editor, BOOM! Studios. “Lilah and polterink return for an incredible new adventure that will send the ‘Janes on an eye-opening journey to discover who they really are – and this is your first chance to get a look inside!”

LUMBERJANES: THE SHAPE OF FRIENDSHIP FCBD SPECIAL is the latest release from BOOM! Studios’ award-winning BOOM! Box imprint, home to groundbreaking original series such as Lumberjanes by Shannon Watters, Grace Ellis, Brooklyn Allen, and Noelle Stevenson, Giant Days by John Allison, Lissa Treiman, and Max Sarin, The Avant-Guards by Carly Usdin and Noah Hayes, Smooth Criminals by Kiwi Smith, Kurt Lustgarten, and Leisha Riddell, Fence by C.S. Pacat and Johanna The Mad, and Goldie Vance by Hope Larson and Brittney Williams. 

Print copies of LUMBERJANES: THE SHAPE OF FRIENDSHIP FCBD SPECIAL will be available for FREE on May 4th, 2019 exclusively at local comic book shops (use comicshoplocator.com to find the nearest one), alongside Welcome to The Whedonverse FCBD Special.

For continuing news on LUMBERJANES: SOMEWHERE THAT’S GREEN #1 and more from BOOM! Studios, stay tuned to www.boom-studios.com and follow @boomstudios on Twitter.

https://www.firstcomicsnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Lumberjanes-logo-600x257.pnghttps://www.firstcomicsnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Lumberjanes-logo-150x64.pngFirst Comics NewsNewscomic,first,friendship,Lumberjanes,reveals,shape,studios
Discover The All New Original Graphic Adventure on May 4, 2019 ​ LOS ANGELES, CA (May 2, 2018) – BOOM! Studios today revealed a first look at LUMBERJANES: THE SHAPE OF FRIENDSHIP FCBD SPECIAL, an all-new comic book arriving in comic shops worldwide on Free Comic Book Day (May 4th, 2019) with...