Public Voting For The Inkwell Awards Open From March 4 – March 18

(New Bedford, MA/USA—March 1, 2024) The Inkwell Awards is now open for fans and professionals to choose their industry favorites. The official public ballot will be available on the Inkwells’ homepage for two weeks, from Monday March 4 through March 18.

Voting is open in five categories: Favorite Inker, Most Adaptable, Props (inkers deserving more attention), The S.P.A.M.I. (Small Press And Mainstream/Independent for non-Marvel/DC work) and All-In-One for artists who ink their own pencils. The awards cover all printed American comic books cover-dated 2023.

“This year we continue with the new addition to our ballot,” said Bob Almond, founder, and director of The Inkwell Awards, the only non-profit organization devoted to public education and promotion of the art of comic book inking. “In answer to myriad requests, a couple of years back we were able to link sample images submitted by the nominated artists on the ballot and we’ve been refining it. This will help both voters and artists to hopefully make the process easier and fairer.”

He added, “Our nomination procedure continues to include inkers who submitted their work in addition to those chosen by our internal nomination committee. Too many ink artists are passed over and go unnoticed by most awards events. Ours caters specifically to inkers so they can be recognized and appreciated for their best work. We encourage all who appreciate quality artwork to participate and share on social media; the more voters, the better.”

The internally-chosen lifetime achievement accolades, the Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame award and the Stacey Aragon Special Recognition Award (SASRA) will be announced along with the ballot categories at the Saturday June 29 live awards ceremony at the recently announced new host-show Hershey Comic Con.

The Inkwell Awards is the only official 501(c)(3) non-profit organization whose mission is to promote and educate regarding the art form of comic-book inking, as well as annually recognize the best ink artists and their work. Established in 2008, the Inkwells are overseen by a volunteer committee of industry professionals and assisted by various professional ambassadors and contributors. They sponsor the Dave Simons Inkwell Memorial Scholarship Fund for the Kubert School and host the Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame Award. The annual awards ceremony is hosted by the Hershey Comic Con.

About Author