Nominees Announced for 2022 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards

DC and Image have the most nominations

SAN DIEGO – Comic-Con is proud to announce the nominees for the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards 2022. The nominations are for works published between January 1 and December 31, 2021 and were chosen by a blue-ribbon panel of judges.

Once again, this year’s nominees in 32 categories reflect the wide range of material being published in the U.S. today in comics and graphic novel media, representing over 150 print and online titles from some 65 publishers, produced by creators from all over the world.

DC and Image received the most nominations: DC with 15 (plus 7 shared) and Image with 14 (plus 4 shared). Leading the pack for DC with 5 nominations is Nightwing, up for Best Continuing Series, Best Single Issue, Best Lettering (West Abbott), and both Best Penciller/Inker and Cover Artist for Bruno Redondo. Wonder Woman Historia: The Amazons garnered 4 nominations: Best Single Issue, Best Writer (Kelly Sue DeConnick), Best Penciller/Inker (Phil Jimenez), and Best Lettering (Clayton Cowles). For Image, Destroy All Monsters (A Reckless Book) garnered nominations for Best Graphic Album–New, Best Writer (Ed Brubaker), and Best Coloring (Jacob Phillips). Image has two nominees each for Best Continuing Series (Bitter Root, The Department of Truth), Best Limited Series (The Good Asian, Stray Dogs), and Best New Series (Radiant Black, Ultramega).

Fantagraphics has 11 nominations, dominating the Best Archival Collection–Comic Books category, with 3 of the 6 nods and the Best Publication Design category with 3 of the 5 nominees. In addition, Barry Windsor-Smith’s magnum opus Monsters received nominations for Best Graphic Album–new, Best Writer/Artist, and Best Lettering. IDW with its subsidiary Top Shelf garnered 11 nominations, led by Ballad for Sophie by Filipe Melo and Juan Cavia, up for Best Graphic Album­–New, Best U.S. Edition of International Material, Best Writer, and Best Painter/Multimedia Artist.

With 8 nominations, VIZ Media came through with 5 of the 6 nominations in the Best U.S. Edition of International Material–Asia category. Marvel Comicsreceived 7 nominations (plus 5 shared), and BOOM!has 7 (with 3 shared). The leading title for BOOM! is The Many Deaths of Laila Starr by Ram V and Filipe Andrade, nominated for Best Limited Series, Best Writer, and Best Penciller/Inker and Coloring.

Other publishers with multiple nominations includeAbrams (with 5), Dark Horse (5), Mariner Books (5), Magnetic Press (4), and Oni (2 plus 2 shared). Fifteen companies have 2 nominations each, and another 37 companies or individuals have 1 nomination each.

Among projects with 2 nominations are Not All Robots(AWA Upshot), Superman: Red & Blue (DC), Popeye: The EC Seger Sundays (Fantagraphics), Bubble (First Second/Macmillan), You Died: An Anthology of the Afterlife (Iron Circus), Alison Bechdel’s The Secret of Superhuman Strength (Mariner Books), Will McPhail’s In (Mariner Books), Marvel Comics Library: Spider-Man 1962–1964 (TASCHEN), Lovesickness: Junji Ito Story Collection (VIZ Media), and Zom 100: Bucket List of the Dead (VIZ Media).

When it comes to creators, James Tynion IV has 5 nominations: 2 for Best Continuing Series (Department of Truth, Something Is Killing the Children) plus Best New Series (The Nice House on the Lake), Best Publication for Teens (Wynd), and Best Writer. Creators with 3 nominations each include Redondo, Windsor-Smith, Melo, Cavia, Andrade, and Daniel Warren Johnson (Best Short Story, Best Limited Series for Marvel’s Beta Ray Bill, Best Writer/Artist). Another 16 creators have 2 nominations,

Named for acclaimed comics creator Will Eisner, the awards are celebrating their 34th year of bringing attention to and highlighting the best publications and creators in comics and graphic novels. The 2022 Eisner Awards judging panel consists of comics writer/editor Barbara Randall Kesel, author/art historian Kim Munson, writer/editor/journalist Rik Offenberger, librarian Jameson Rohrer, comics journalist/historian Jessica Tseang, and retailer Aaron Trites.

Voting for the awards is being held online using a two-step process. The first step is for prospective voters to apply at After filling out the form, eligible voters will be invited to go to the ballot and cast their votes. Those who previously registered will automatically be invited to fill out the new ballot. All professionals in the comic book industry are eligible to vote. The deadline for voting is June 8. New voters must have registered by June 1 in order to be invited to the ballot. Questions about the voting process should be sent to the Eisner Awards administrator, Jackie Estrada at

The Eisner Award trophies will be presented in a gala awards ceremony to be held during Comic-Con on the evening of July 22.

About Author