Jim Shooter
Jim Shooter

The latest development for the non-profit inkwell Awards organization is the addition of Jim Shooter to it’s membership roster as a new ambassador. Inkwells director Bob Almond says, “With all that we have going on right now with activities like our annualJoe Sinnott Inking Challenge auctions and gallery book and Nomination process in effect for the 2012 season we weren’t planning to add any more new creators to the ambassador line-up for a bit after our recent additions of Phil Jimenez, Eric Basuldua and the legendary Joe Kubert last September. But sometimes things fall into place with the right people at the right time and you’ve got to run with it. While not involved operationally, the Ambassadors who represent us and agree with our mission can certainly lend a lot more exposure and credibility to our mission, and Jim is no exception. This is an especially exciting way for us to kick off the new year!”

A child prodigy, Jim Shooter’s career actually began in the ’60s while still in school! As is posted at Jim’s blog site bio:

I did my first professional comics work at the age of thirteen, selling a Legion of Super-Heroes story to DC Comics and going on to write Superboy, The Legion of Super-Heroes, Superman and other titles.

In 1978, I accepted the position of Editor in Chief of Marvel Comics under the condition that I would be allowed to improve things for Marvel’s creators. I introduced royalties and a spectrum of other incentives, rights and benefits, attracting a Who’s Who of talent.
Later, I founded VALIANT, DEFIANT and Broadway Comics and was the principal creator of their characters and universes.
Today, I’m the Editor in Chief of Illustrated Media, a custom comics company and I’m presently writing the revival of the Gold Key superheroes for Dark Horse Comics. Solar: Man of the Atom, Magnus: Robot Fighter, Turok: Son of Stone and Mighty Samson are available now.

Joe Sinnott, the Inkwell’s Hall of Fame recipient and namesake was under contract at Marvel during Jim’s tenure and he made the following statement: The news that my good friend Jim Shooter will be joining us as an ambassador and contributor to our organization should certainly be a great asset to the Inkwell Awards!
Joe Sinnott (December 13, 2011)
Bob continues, “As a reader I became a fan of Jim in the mid-late ’70s for his writing and editing at Marvel Comics. Later on I always found him professional and accessible the few times I met him in person and I was proud to work with him briefly on a short story for Valiant Entertainment a few years ago. But putting the personal fanboy gushing aside, Jim has undeniably been a primary force in this industry for about 45 years now. Besides all of his accomplishments with introducing new talent, creating memorable, epic stories, new characters and even entire universes as an editor and publisher, Jim is an artist, and one who, as editor-and-chief, has been an advocate for artists when it came to establishing incentives and policies to bring more respect and benefits to the talent. Due to his exceptional achievements and respect and recognition for the quality contribution of inkers and inking to the medium, we at the Inkwell Awards are quite honored to be associated with him.”
Previously established Inkwell Awards ambassadors include Adam Hughes, Mike Marts, Ethan Van Sciver, Mark Brooks, Mike McKone, Sal Velluto, Trevor Von Eeden, Cully Hamner, and the aforementioned Basuldua, Jimenez and Kubert.
The Inkwell Awards is a non-profit organization whose mission is to promote and educate about the art form of comic book inking and to annually recognize and award the best ink artists and their work. Now in their fifth year, the organization is overseen by a number of industry professionals such as founder & director Bob Almond, Jimmy Tournas, Michael W. Kellar, Stacey Aragon and Sarah L. Covert who make up the IA core committee and Adam Hughes, Mike Marts, Ethan Van Sciver, Mark Brooks, Sal Velluto, Mike McKone, Trevor Von Eeden, J. David Spurlock, Cully Hamner, Phil Jimenez, Eric Basaldua and Joe Kubert who make up their IA ambassadors, and numerous contributors such as Mark McKenna, Dan Panosian, Louis Small, Jr. and Randy Green among others. They sponsor the Dave Simons Inkwell Memorial Scholarship Fund for the Joe Kubert School of Cartoon & Graphic Art and host the Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame.

About Author