Annual Harvey Awards Celebration to Honor Outstanding Work in Comics During This Year’s New York Comic Con 

NEW YORK, NY – August 11 2023 – The Harvey Awards today unveiled the nominations and opened the voting for the following categories: Book of the Year, Digital Book of the Year, Best Children’s or Young Adult Book, Best Manga, Best International Book, and Best Adaptation from Comic Book/Graphic Novel. The nominees for the 2023 Harvey Awards are:

Book of the Year
•       Acting Class by Nick Drnaso (Drawn and Quarterly)
•       Ducks: Two Years in the Oil Sands by Kate Beaton (Drawn and Quarterly)
•       Follow Me Down: A Reckless Book by Ed Brubaker, Sean Phillips and Jacob Phillips (Image Comics)
•       Girl Juice by Benji Nate (Drawn and Quarterly)
•       It’s Lonely at the Centre of the Earth by Zoe Thorogood (Image Comics)
•       Little Monsters Vol. 1 by Jeff Lemire & Dustin Nguyen (Image Comics)
•       The Man in the McIntosh Suit by Rina Ayuyang (Drawn and Quarterly)
•       Mimosa by Archie Bongiovanni (Abrams ComicArts/Surely)
•       Public Domain Vol. 1 by Chip Zdarsky (Image Comics)
•       Who Will Make The Pancakes by Megan Kelso (Fantagraphics)

Digital Book of the Year

       Barnstormers by Scott Snyder and Tula Lotay (Comixology Originals)
       Deeply Dave by Grover
       Everything is Fine by Mike Birchall
       Lore Olympus by Rachel Smythe
       Ripple Effects by Jordan Hart, Bruno Chiroleu, Justin Harder, and Shane Kadlecik

Best Children’s or Young Adult Book

•       Clementine Fox and the Great Island Adventure by Leigh Luna (Graphix/Scholastic)
•       Dungeons & Dragons: Dungeon Club: Roll Call by Molly Knox Ostertag and Xanthe Bouma (HarperAlley)
•       Frizzy by Claribel A. Ortega and Rose Bousamra (First Second)
•       Hungry Ghost by Victoria Ying (First Second)
•       In Limbo: A Graphic Memoir by Deb JJ Lee (First Second)
•       Northranger by Rey Terciero and Bre Indigo (HarperAlley)

Best Manga

•       Cat + Gamer by Wataru Nadatani, translated by Zack Davisson (Dark Horse Manga)
•       Chainsaw Man by Tatsuki Fujimoto, translated by Amanda Haley (VIZ Media)
•       Goodbye, Eri by Tatsuki Fujimoto, translated by Amanda Haley (VIZ Media)
•       Shuna’s Journey by Hayao Miyazaki, translated by Alex Dudok de Wit (First Second)
•       Spy x Family by Tatsuya Endo, translated by Casey Loe (VIZ Media)

Best International Book

•       Alice on the Run: One Child’s Journey Through the Rwandan Civil War by Gaspard Talmasse, translated by Nanette McGuinness (Life Drawn)
•       Always Never by Jordi Lafebre and Clemence Sapin, translated by Montana Kane (Dark Horse Books)
•       Ashes by Álvaro Ortiz, translated by Eva Ibarzabal (Top Shelf Productions)
•       Blacksad: They All Fall Down Part 1 by Juan Díaz Canales and Juanjo Guarnido, translated by Diana Schutz and Brandon Kander (Dark Horse Books)
•       The Extraordinary Part: Book One: Orsay’s Hands by Florent Ruppert and Jérôme Mulot, translated by M.B. Valente (Fantagraphics)
•       Tiki: A Very Ruff Year by David Azencot, Fred Leclerc and Lucie Firou, translated by Nanette McGuinness (Life Drawn)

Best Adaptation from Comic Book/Graphic Novel

•       American Born Chinese (Disney+), based on American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang (First Second)
•       Drops of God (Apple TV+), based on Drops of God by Tadashi Agi and Shu Okimoto (Vertical)
•       Moon Knight (Disney+), based on Moon Knight (Marvel Comics)
•       Nimona (Netflix), directed by Nick Bruno and Troy Quane, based on Nimona by ND Stevenson (Quill Tree Books)
•       The Sandman (Netflix), based on The Sandman (DC Comics)
•       She-Hulk (Disney+) based on She-Hulk (Marvel Comics)
•       Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse, directed by Joaquim Dos Santos, Kemp Powers, and Justin K. Thompson, based on Spider-Man (Marvel Comics)
•       The Stuff of Legend – The Board Game, based on The Stuff of Legend by Mike Raicht Brian Smith and Charles Paul Wilson III (Th3rd World Studios)
•       Sweet Tooth Season 2 (Netflix) based on Sweet Tooth by Jeff Lemire (DC Comics)
•       Wednesday (Netflix), based on The Addams Family by Charles Addams

Nominees for this year’s awards were selected by a curated committee of diverse industry voices including creators, publishing professionals, retailers, educators, and librarians. Creator and industry professionals who have been previously approved for a Professional or Artist Alley badge at any ReedPop comic convention between 2016 and 2023 are automatically eligible to cast their ballot. The Harvey Awards Steering Committee is co-chaired by Nellie Kurtzman, John Lind, and Chip Mosher.

Select professionals have been preapproved to vote on this year’s awards and have received their invites already. If you’d like to apply to participate in selecting this year’s Harvey Awards, please visit the Harvey Awards Apply to Vote page. Voting will conclude on September 1st.

“The Harvey Awards continues to distinguish itself by honoring the unique talents required to create the very best graphic novels,” co-chair John Lind explains. “This year is especially impressive given the range of diversity among authors, illustrators, and content being created in the field and we are thrilled to recognize these accomplishments.”

“The candidates for this year’s Harvey Awards represent the amazing spectrum of excellence in the comics field,” continued co-chair Nellie Kurtzman. “We can’t wait to honor the creators who filled these past twelve months with such magnificent reading.”

The Harvey Awards honors books and creators working in sequential art across a variety of categories and represents one of the industry’s longest-running annual events. The awards are named after Harvey Kurtzman, the legendary creator who is best remembered for creating MAD.

The annual gala celebrating the Harvey Awards will be held during New York Comic Con. More information about this year’s Harvey Awards ceremony event and an announcement regardinhttp://www.harveyawards.com/g this year’s Harvey Awards Hall of Fame class will be released at a later date.

For information about Harvey Kurtzman and the Harvey Awards, please visit harveyawards.com or the Harvey Awards social media pages (InstagramFacebook & Twitter). The Harvey Awards are coordinated by Chris D’Lando, Camilla Di Persia, and Eden Miller.

New York Comic Con is the ultimate pop culture destination event in the United States. NYCC brings the best of comics, television, film, exhibitors, celebrities, cosplay, anime, and more to create memorable, uniquely exciting experiences for fans. These experiences transcend beyond the walls of the Javits Center and continue to live beyond the weekend of NYCC through Popverse, a robust digital platform where they could get their pop culture fix of content, community, and merchandise all year long. Fans are also invited to sign up to become Popverse Superfans at thepopverse.com to receive access to convention coverage, how-to and shopping guides, deep dives into popular fandoms, and more.

About Author