(L to R: Frank Frazetta III and Frank Frazetta, Jr., at the Frazetta Art Museum with Inkwell Awards Sinnott with 2023 Inkwell Awards Sinnott Hall Of Fame trophy and 2021 SASRA trophy.)

(New Bedford, MA/USA–February 09, 2023) The Inkwell Awards, a 501(c)(3) non-profit devoted to promoting the art of comic book inking, has announced that Frank Frazetta has posthumously won The Joe Sinnott Hall Of Fame Award for his career ink art. 

Awarded since 2008, The Sinnott Hall Of Fame, named after inking legend Joe Sinnott, is a lifetime achievement award for a minimum 25-year inking career of outstanding accomplishment in American comic books. Two winners are chosen annually by the Inkwells’ internal committee. The second winner, along with the winners of the Inkwell’s other lifetime achievement award, the Stacey Aragon Special Recognition Award (SASRA), will be announced separately at a later date.

Frazetta’s son, Frank Frazetta Jr., shared the following statement:

“My father’s work has touched millions worldwide and his oil paintings sell for millions. It is essential to note that his love of art, and his career, started with comics. His life’s work and how it continues to touch and stimulate new generations is a great testament to the power of the comics art form to inspire. We thank Bob Almond, the Inkwell Committee, Special Ambassador J. David Spurlock and everyone with The Inkwell Awards for recognizing Frank Frazetta’s historic contributions to the art of inking with their most prestigious award, The Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame honor; especially since today (Feb. 9) would have been Frank’s 95th birthday. We invite everyone to visit us at The Frazetta Art Museum in East Stroudsburg, PA, to study the World’s largest collection of Frazetta art.”

Frazetta previously won the SASRA in 2021 and becomes only the second artist (with Bernie Wrightson) to win both the Inkwells’ Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Full acceptance statements and information on both awards, along with a list of past winners, will be posted to the Inkwell Awards’ website.

The Inkwell Awards is the only official 501(c)(3) non-profit organization whose mission is to promote and educate regarding the art form of comic-book inking, as well as annually recognize the best ink artists and their work. Established in 2008, the Inkwells are overseen by a volunteer committee of industry professionals and assisted by various professional ambassadors and contributors. They sponsor the Dave Simons Inkwell Memorial Scholarship Fund for the Kubert School and host the Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame Award.

About Author