MILWAUKIE, Ore., (April 27, 2018)—The nominations are in for the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards 2018!

Dark Horse Comics has 13 nominations in 10 categories.

The nominees, chosen by a blue-ribbon panel of judges, reflect the wide range of material published in comics and graphic novels.

Named for acclaimed comics creator Will Eisner, the awards are in their thirtieth year of highlighting the best publications and creators in comics and graphic novels.


Best Single Issue/One-Shot:

Hellboy: Krampusnacht, by Mike Mignola and Adam Hughes

Best Continuing Series:

Black Hammer, by Jeff Lemire, Dean Ormston, and David Rubín

Best Adaptation from Another Medium:

H. P. Lovecraft’s The Hound and Other Stories, adapted by Gou Tanabe, translated by Zack Davisson
Herman Melville’s Moby Dick, adapted by Christophe Chabouté, translated by Laure Dupont

Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books:

Will Eisner the Centennial Celebration, 1917-2017, by Paul Gravatt, Denis Kitchen, and John Lind

Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team:

• Gary Gianni, Hellboy: Into the Silent Sea

Best Lettering:

• Stan Sakai, Usagi Yojimbo, Groo: Play of the Gods

Best Publication Design:

Will Eisner: The Centennial Celebration, 1917-2017, designed by John Lind

Best Writer:

• Jeff Lemire, Black Hammer (Dark Horse); Descender (Image)
• Matt Kindt, Grass Kings (BOOM! Studios); Ether (Dark Horse); Eternity, X-O Manowar (Valiant)

Best Writer/Artist:

• Chabouté, Moby Dick (Dark Horse); Alone, The Park Bench (Gallery 13/Simon & Schuster)

Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team:

• David Rubín, Black Hammer #9 & #12, Ether, Sherlock Frankenstein #1–3 (Dark Horse); Beowulf (Image)

Best Coloring:

• David Rubín, Ether, Black Hammer, Sherlock Frankenstein (Dark Horse); Beowulf (Image)
• Dave Stewart, Black Hammer, B.P.R.D: Devil You Know, Hellboy: Into the Silent Sea, Sherlock Frankenstein, The Shaolin Cowboy (Dark Horse); Maestros (Image)

Congratulations to all the Eisner nominees for 2018!

Voting for the awards is held online. All professionals in the comic book industry are eligible to vote. The ballot will be available at EisnerVote.com. The results in all categories will be announced in a gala awards ceremony on the evening of Friday, July 20, at Comic-Con International.

About Author