Comic-Con Announces 2022 Manning Award Nominees

Comic-Con is pleased to announce this year’s nominees for the Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award (commonly referred to as The Manning Award).

They are:

Matthew Clarke, co-creator/artist of Hardears(Abrams ComicArts Megascope)
Emma Kubert, co-creator/artist of Inblot (Image)
Meredith Laxton, artist of MPLS Sound (Life Drawn by Humanoids)
Luana Vecchio, artist of Bolero (Image)
Audra Winslow, writer/artist of Jo & Rus (kaboom!)

 The nominees were chosen by a panel consisting of board and committee members of Comic-Con International and a San Diego comics retailer. The winner will be chosen by past Manning award winners and Russ Manning assistants. The recipient will be announced during the Eisner Awards ceremony on July 22 at Comic-Con in San Diego.

 The Manning Award has been given out annually at the San Diego Comic-Con since 1982. It is presented to a comics artist who, early in his or her career, shows a superior knowledge and ability in the art of creating comics. It is named for Russ Manning, the artist best known for his work on the Tarzan and Star Warsnewspaper strips and the Magnus, Robot Fighter comic book. Russ was a popular guest at the San Diego convention in the 1970s.

The first recipient of the award was former Manning assistant Dave Stevens, who went on to create The Rocketeer. Other past recipients have included Jan Duursema, Steve Rude, Scott McCloud, Art Adams, Eric Shanower, Dan Brereton, Jeff Smith, Gene Ha, Alexander Maleev, David Petersen, Cathy Malkasian, Eleanor Davis, Tyler Crook, Dan Mora, and Greg Smallwood, to name a few.

About Author