Announcing the 2021 Ringo Awards Final Ballot

The Ringo Awards are thrilled to announce the 2021 nominees. The nomination process was completed with the participation of our esteemed 2021 jury as well as the voting public. Fans and comic book professionals alike showed strong support in promoting the voting process on their websites, channels, and via social media.

Voting on the 2021 Final Ballot is restricted to comic book industry creative community — anyone involved in and credited with creating comics professionally. We now present the 2021 Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards Final Ballot.

* Best Cartoonist (Writer/Artist)

Derf Backderf
Stan Sakai
Rachel Smythe
Adrian Tomine
Sophie Yanow

* Best Writer

Penelope Bagieu
Anthony Del Col
Jason Douglas
N.K. Jemisin
Marjorie Liu
James Tynion IV
Ram V

* Best Artist or Penciller

Josh Adams
Jamal Campbell
Elsa Charretier
Hanza Art
Sana Takeda

* Best Inker

Sanford Greene
Brett Hobson
Gabriel Hernandez Walta
Tonci Zonjic

* Best Letterer

Deron Bennett
Aditya Bidikar
DC Hopkins
Micah Myers
Chas! Pangburn

* Best Colorist

Toyin Ajetunmobi
Laura Allred
Tamra Bonvillain
Aladdin Lee Grant Rutledge Collar
Jacob Phillips
Joe Todd-Stanton
Christian Ward

* Best Cover Artist

Gian Carlo Bernal
Stephanie Hans
Maan House
Steve Lieber
Peach Momoko
Kevin O’Neill
Joe Todd-Stanton

* Best Series

The Department of Truth, Image Comics
Far Sector, DC Comics
Lore Olympus, WEBTOON
My Deepest Secret, WEBTOON
Usagi Yojimbo, IDW Publishing
Wonder Woman: Dead Earth, DC

* Best Single Issue or Story

All-America Comix #1, Image Comics
Firefly: The Outlaw Ma Reynolds (BOOM! Studios)
Marcy and the Riddle of the Sphinx, Flying Eye Books (US) / Nobrow Press
“Mene, Mene, Tekel, Upharsin” from Ice Cream Man Present Quarantine Comix Special #1, Image Comics
The O.Z., self-published
Parallel, Source Point Press

* Best Original Graphic Novel

Buried But Not Dead, Source Point Press
Kent State: Four Dead in Ohio, Abrams Books
The Loneliness of the Long-Distance Cartoonist, Drawn & Quarterly
Moms, Drawn & Quarterly
Pulp, Image Comics

* Best Anthology

Be Gay, Do Comics, IDW Publishing
Hey, Amateur! Go From Novice to Nailing It in 9 Panels, IDW Publishing
Maybe Someday: Stories of Promise, Visions of Hope, A Wave Blue World
Pandemix: Quarantine Comix in the Age of ‘Rona, self-published
Votes for Women: The Battle for the 19th Amendment, Little Red Bird Press

* Best Humor Comic

Akissi: Even More Tales of Mischief, Flying Eye Books (US) / Nobrow Press
ArkhaManiacs, DC
Billionaire Island, AHOY Comics
Love and Capes: The Family Way, Maerkle Press/IDW Publishing
Metalshark Bro 2: Assault on Hamzig Island, Scout Comics
Moms, Drawn & Quarterly
Wicked Things, BOOM! Studios

* Best Webcomic

DPS Only! (
Fangs (
Heart of the City (
Midnight Poppy Land (
Shiloh (
Totally Under Control (

* Best Humor Webcomic

The Abominable Charles Christopher (
Bagel High (
Beware of Toddler (
Cassandra Comics (
Cursed Princess Club (
The Middle Age (
Sarah’s Scribbles (
xkcd (

* Best Non-fiction Comic Work

Banned Book Club, Iron Circus Comics
Chasin’ the Bird: Charlie Parker In California, Z2 Comics
Come Home Indio, Street Noise Books
Dancing After TEN, Fantagraphics Books
Grateful Dead – Origins, Z2 Comics
Kent State: Four Dead in Ohio, Abrams Books
We’ll Soon Be Home Again, Dark Horse Comics

* Best Kids Comic or Graphic Novel

Akissi: Even More Tales of Mischief, Flying Eye Books (US) / Nobrow Press
Cat Kid Comic Club #1, Scholastic Graphix
Jupiter Jet and the Forgotten Radio, Action Lab Entertainment
Max Meow: Cat Crusader, Random House
The Perhapanauts: First Blood, Scout Comics
Twins, Scholastic Graphix

* Best Presentation in Design

Crescent City Monsters, Dream Fury Comics
Dave Cockrum’s X-Men Artifact Edition, IDW Publishing
The Electric Black, Scout Comics
The Harrowing of Hell, Iron Circus Comics
Heavy Metal #300, Heavy Metal
Impossible Jones, Volume 1: Grin & Gritty, Panic Button Press
Marcy and the Riddle of the Sphinx, Flying Eye Books (US) / Nobrow Press

Comic pros can navigate to our website to submit their vote.


About Author