AHOY Comics To Be Distributed in Bookstores by Simon & Schuster As Of March 2021

Plus, AHOY Announces Their Graphic Novel Publication Schedule for Fall

(March 15) AHOY Comics—the independent publisher making a name for itself with clever and irreverent titles like SECOND COMING, THE WRONG EARTH, and EDGAR ALLAN POE’S SNIFTER OF BLOOD—will be distributed in bookstores by Simon & Schuster as of March 2021. The publisher also announced its fall publication schedule which will include trade paperback editions of several of its comics. Diamond will continue to distribute AHOY’s titles into comic shops.

“We’re pleased as punch to be partnering with Simon & Schuster with a deal that will allow us to expand our distribution in such a significant way,” said AHOY Publisher Hart Seely. “We can’t wait to foist our stable of oddball titles onto the unsuspecting masses and introduce a whole new audience of folks to Dragonfly and Dragonflyman, Jesus and Sunstar, and the staggeringly drunken Edgar Allan Poe.”

AHOY also announced its fall publication schedule which will also include trade paperback versions of several of its popular series from earlier in the year: HAPPY HOUR, THE WRONG EARTH: NIGHT AND DAY, EDGAR ALLAN POE’S SNIFTER OF BLOOD and SECOND COMING: ONLY BEGOTTEN SON.

Publication dates and summaries for AHOY’s fall titles are below:

  • HAPPY HOUR: August 25, 2021 (Bookstores: September 7, 2021)

(W) Peter Milligan, (A) Michael Montenat

In future America, being happy isn’t just a right—it’s the law. While the Joy Police brutally enforce the cheery code, two young people go on the run, searching for a haven of melancholy where they can safely bask in the blues. A timely tale by superstar writer Peter Milligan (X-Statix, The Prisoner) and artist Michael Montenat (Dominion, Hellraiser Annual).

  • THE WRONG EARTH: NIGHT AND DAY: September 8, 2021 (Bookstores: September 21, 2021)

(W) Tom Peyer, (A) Jamal Igle / Juan Castro

The vengeance-dealing Dragonfly sticks it to the man! The acrobatic sleuth Dragonflyman assists the police! These alternate-earth versions of the same masked crimefighter meet face-to-face for the first time in this new series by the original creators of the smash-hit The Wrong Earth! Will their impossible encounter result in a team-up…  or an all-out war?

  • EDGAR ALLAN POE’S SNIFTER OF BLOOD: September 22, 2021 (Bookstores: October 5, 2021)

(W) Paul Cornell, Dean Motter, (A) Russ Braun

Edgar Allan Poe’s Snifter of Blood continues to cheaply exploit the great Edgar Allan Poe’s reputation! The collection combines 6 issues worth of anthologies including a take on how the 1% would fare in “Masque of the Red Death” by Tom Peyer and Alan Robinson, Sherlock Holmes’s investigation of murders from two Poe stories by Paul Cornell (Doctor Who) and Greg Scott, a update on the “Tell-Tale Heart” and more. Oh, and did we mention the new Cereal Monsters story from Mark Russell and Peter Snejberg?

  • SECOND COMING: ONLY BEGOTTEN SON: November 3, 2021 (Bookstores: November 16, 2021)

(W) Mark Russell, (A) Richard Pace, Leonard Kirk

The long-awaited second volume of the book ComicsBeat called “the world’s most dangerous comic book and the most lovely.” As superhero Sunstar anticipates becoming a father, he agonizes over how—and if—he can use his powers to make a better world for his child. And as Jesus Christ loses his bedroom to a nursery, he struggles to find a new place in a society that distorts and exploits his message for profit.

The first volumes of THE WRONG EARTH and SECOND COMING are available now for reorder from Simon & Schuster, along with all other titles in the AHOY Comics backlist.

“As our president has said, there’s finally light at the end of the tunnel,” said Editor-in-Chief Tom Peyer. “I’m of course referring to the blindingly bright light cast by our stellar line of fall titles, which I know the entire nation is anticipating with bated (and masked) breath.”

About Author