2018 HARVEY AWARDS Nominees

The Harvey Awards today revealed the nominees and new categories debuting at the 30th anniversary celebration of the awards. The new award categories include: Book of the Year, Digital Book of the Year, Best Children or Young Adult Book, Best Adaptation from a Comic Book/Graphic Novel, Best Manga and Best European Book. Voting is now open to eligible industry professionals.

“We are proud to announce the nominees for the new slate of Harvey Awards. By opening up the process to librarians, educators, retailers and more, we believe that we have an accurate representation of this year’s best graphic works,” said Nellie Kurtzman, co-chair of the Harvey Awards Steering Committee.

“ReedPOP is thrilled to help honor the life and work of the great Harvey Kurtzman by spotlighting the best that this medium has to offer,” said Lance Fensterman, Global President of ReedPOP. “I wish all of our wonderful nominees the best of luck and look forward to the winners being announced at our gala event on the Friday of New York Comic Con.”
Details for the gala celebrating the 30th anniversary of the Harvey Awards were also announced today. ReedPOP, the world’s leading producer of pop culture events, will host a gala event on Friday, October 5th at Shop Studios (528 W 39th St) at 8:30pm to present this year’s awards and honor the life and work of Harvey Kurtzman.
The nominees for the new slate of categories for the Harvey Awards include:
Book of the Year
BLACK HAMMER: SECRET ORIGINS by Jeff Lemire, Dean Ormston and Dave Stewart (Dark Horse)
BOUNDLESS by Jillian Tamaki (Drawn and Quarterly)
EVERYTHING IS FLAMMABLE by Gabrielle Bell (Uncivilized Books)
HOSTAGE by Guy Delisle (Drawn and Quarterly)
KINDRED by Octavia E. Butler, adapted by Damian Duffy and illustrated by John Jennings (Abrams ComicArts)
LIGHTER THAN MY SHADOW by Katie Green (Lion Forge)
MONSTRESS by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda (Image)
MY FAVORITE THING IS MONSTERS by Emil Ferris (Fantagraphics)
ROUGHNECK by Jeff Lemire (Gallery 13)
SHADE THE CHANGING GIRL by Cecil Castellucci and Marley Zarcone (DC Comics)
SPINNING by Tillie Walden (First Second)
THE BEST WE COULD DO by Thi Bui (Abrams Books)
THE CUSTOMER IS ALWAYS WRONG by Mimi Pond (Drawn and Quarterly)
THE FLINSTONES by Mark Russell and Steve Pugh (DC Comics)

Digital Book of the Year
BANDETTE by Paul Tobin and Colleen Coover (Monkeybrain)
BARRIER by Brian K. Vaughn, Marcos Martin and Muntsa Vicente (Panel Syndicate)
CHECK, PLEASE!: #HOCKEY by Ngozi Ukazu (checkpleasecomic.com)
NOT DRUNK ENOUGH by Tessa Stone (ndecomic.com)
THE TEA DRAGON SOCIETY by Katie O’Neill (teadragonsociety.com)

Best Children or Young Adult Book
BRAVE by Svetlana Chmakova (JY)
REAL FRIENDS by Shannon Hale and LeUyeun Pham (First Second)
SPINNING by Tillie Walden (First Second)
THE TEA DRAGON SOCIETY, by Katie O’Neill (Oni Press)

Best Adaptation from a Comic Book/Graphic Novel
ATOMIC BLONDE (Focus Features) – Directed by David Leitch. Adapted from “The Coldest City” (Oni Press)
BLACK PANTHER (Walt Disney Pictures) – Directed by Ryan Coogler. Adapted from “Black Panther” (Marvel Comics)
THE LEGO BATMAN MOVIE (Warner Bros.) – Directed by Chris McKay. Adapted from “Batman” (DC Comics)
LOGAN (20th Century Fox) – Directed by James Mangold. Adapted from “Wolverine” (Marvel Comics)
MY FRIEND DAHMER (FilmRise) – Directed by Marc Meyers. Adapted from “My Friend Dahmer” (Abrams ComicArts)
PREACHER (AMC) – Developed by Sam Catlin, Seth Rogen, Evan Goldberg. Adapted from “Preacher” (DC/Vertigo)
RIVERDALE (The CW) – Developed by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa. Adapted from “Archie” (Archie Comics)
THE END OF THE F***ING WORLD (Netflix) – Written by Charlie Covell. Adapted from “The End of the F***ing World” (Fantagraphics)
THOR: RAGNAROK (Walt Disney Pictures) – Directed by Taika Waititi. Adapted from “Thor” (Marvel Comics)
WONDER WOMAN (Warner Bros.) – Directed by Patty Jenkins. Adapted from “Wonder Woman” (DC Comics)

Best Manga
MY BROTHER’S HUSBAND by Gengoroh Tagame Anne Ishii (Pantheon Graphic Library)
MY HERO ACADEMIA by Kohei Horikoshi (Viz Media)
TOKYO GHOUL by Sui Ishida (Viz Media)
YOUR NAME by Makoto Shinkai and Ranmaru Kotone (Yen Press)

Best European Book
AUDUBON: ON THE WINGS OF THE WORLD by Fabien Grolleau and Jerémie Royer (Nobrow)
FLIGHT OF THE RAVEN by Jean-Pierre Gibrat (IDW)
THE GHOST OF GAUDI by El Torres and Jesús Alonso Iglesias (Magnetic Press)
THE LADIES IN WAITING by Santiago García and Javier Olivares (Fantagraphics)

Nominees for this year’s awards were selected by a handpicked group of diverse industry voices and will be voted on by eligible industry professionals. Utilizing ReedPOP’s extensive network of comic and industry professionals, attendees who have been previously approved for a Pro Badge or Artist Alley Badge at a 2016, 2017 or 2018 ReedPOP comic convention (New York Comic Con, Emerald City Comic Con, C2E2) are automatically eligible to cast their ballot. Voting will conclude on September 3rd.
Select professionals from ReedPOP’s industry network and Artist Alley have already been pre-approved to vote on this year’s awards and will be receiving invites to cast their vote today. Those professionals wanting to apply to participate in selecting this year’s Harvey Awards, please visit here.
The Harvey Awards, which celebrates its 30th anniversary in 2018, honors achievement in comic books across a variety of categories and represents one of the industry’s largest annual events. The Harveys have long recognized comic book excellence – honoring industry professionals in the United States and internationally. Named after Harvey Kurtzman, the late famed comic genius who is best remembered for creating MAD, the Harveys are returning to the birthplace of comics and the lifelong home of Kurtzman himself– New York City.
For more information about Harvey Kurtzman and the Harvey Awards, please visit harveyawards.com or the Harvey Awards social media pages (Facebook and Twitter). The 2017/2018 Harvey Awards Steering Committee is chaired by Nellie Kurtzman along with noted industry veterans John Lind and Chip Mosher.

About Author