I recently had the pleasure of getting to know writer BARRY SOLLOWAY and his wife Linda. Both are fine people and I’m lucky enough to have gotten an early read of his debut novel WHO’S KILLING THE LIBERALS? It is a high acclaimed political thriller in the vein of Grisham or Clancy but don’t take my word for it here’s what industry insiders are saying.

“Smart and gripping and filled with unexpected twists, WHO’s KILLING THE LIBERALS is the type of political thriller that can’t be set down nor forgot.”Eric J. Guignard, award-winning author and editor, including After Death… and Baggage of Eternal Night, finalist for the International Thriller Writer’s Award

 

“A brainy thriller with an eclectic cast of characters wrapped around an unwitting hero who must unwrap a riddle while the body count rises around him and his own life expectancy shortens with each heartbeat. Well done!” –Barney Cohen, writer for Sabrina the Teenage Witch, Friday the 13th The Final Chapter, and creator of Forever Knight

“Barry Solloway is more than simply another new voice in contemporary literature, he writes with passion and soul combining John Grisham with Dan Brown and leaving the readers dying for more. This book is going to get a lot of attention.” – Vincent Rocca, Writer/Director of KISSES AND CAROMS, Author of 11 Simple Steps to Turn a Screenplay into a Marketable Movie: Or, How I Got a $10k Movie to Gross $1 Million through Warner Bros

 

“The intrigue unfolds like the early morning San Francisco fog, enveloping you until you can’t see what’s coming next. Fans of political courtroom-driven thrillers are in for a treat!”  —John Palisano, Vice President of the Horror Writers Association and Bram Stoker Award-Winning Author of Night of 1,000 Beasts

HERE’S MY CHAT WITH BARRY.

Have you always wanted to be a writer?

Not really.  I’m an avid reader and always appreciated a great book, but until fairly recently I wasn’t sure I could create an interesting novel.

What works inspired you to pursue this career?

Oddly enough purely written popular novels.  I realized I could write at a higher level than people that were successful.

Do you have an ideal reader in mind?  Who do you think would best relate to your stories?

A reader that enjoys popular thrillers/mysteries.

Why do you choose the words you do?  What’s the process like?

I obviously try to write intelligent dialogue that sounds natural (and hopefully sometimes clever) and create scenes that keep the reader’s interest.  As the story moves along I feel like it’s almost like writing a play, 

Who would play your characters in a movie?

Since the primary characters are in the early thirties age group it would be actors that fit the story.  These are with my wife’s help.

Lead character: Ryan Gosling, Jake Gyllenhaal, Chris Pine, Christian Bale

Hulse (nerd) character: Ben Whishaw, James McAvoy, Sam Riley

What are the biggest mistakes new writers make?

This is a guess.  Lack of ability to view their work from the eyes of the average reader.

Have you been to a comic-con yet?

No.

What does success mean to you?  A million readers?  An award?  Being praised by peers?

Probably all of the above but, since I’m trying to make a living, financial success ranks pretty high.

How does politics factor into your narrative?

It’s an important element to give the story a unique slant, hopefully without offending any reader.

Advice for wannabe writers that haven’t committed yet?

Just give it a try, see if you enjoy the process.  Keep in mind you improve as you continue the process.  Few writers scored with their first book.

Find out more about this artist at BarrySolloway.com and don’t miss buying a copy of WHO’S KILLING THE LIBERALS coming out soon!!!

http://www.firstcomicsnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/TMI-with-TIM-600x257.pnghttp://www.firstcomicsnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/TMI-with-TIM-150x64.pngTim ChizmarColumnTMI with TIMBarry,Barry Solloway,Killing the Liberals,Political,Solloway
I recently had the pleasure of getting to know writer BARRY SOLLOWAY and his wife Linda. Both are fine people and I'm lucky enough to have gotten an early read of his debut novel WHO'S KILLING THE LIBERALS? It is a high acclaimed political thriller in the vein of...