Pulp Illustrations on display starting October 12, 2018

 

Auburn, NY (October 2, 2018): The Underground Bottle Shop, Auburn’s unique wine, cider and spirits retailer, will be celebrating the art of The Adventures of Captain Graves with a tasting and a month-long exhibition of the interior illustrations of Ed Catto. This event, scheduled for Friday, October 12, 2018, is part  of The Underground Bottle Shop’s unique weekly tasting series.

 

Local artist Ed Catto is a marketing consultant and recently joined the faculty of Ithaca College’s School of Business.  This exhibit marks his recent work for publisher Airship 27’s line of pulp novels.  As is tradition, each book contains nine interior black and white illustrations.

 

The Adventures of Captain Graves by Thomas McNulty is a South Seas thriller set in the 1930s and written in the tradition of Indiana Jones or Errol Flynn movies.  The original artwork will be on display and available for purchase.  Copies of the book will also be available for purchase at the exhibit’s opening night event.

 

For this project, Catto’s work embraces a traditional illustration style with lush inking.  This exhibition at The Underground Bottle Shop show marks his first exhibition in Central New York and the Finger Lakes.  Catto, who recently returned to Auburn, traces his Auburn roots back three generations. “So much of my wonderful extended family still resides in Auburn and the Finger Lakes region, so I’m just thrilled to exhibit my work here.”

 

The exhibit will augment The Underground Bottle Shop’s weekly Friday Night Tasting Event and will be pouring wines from the islands of Corsica, Sardinia, and the Canaries.  “We’re committed to the region, and continue to offer the best products, knowledgeable customer service and unique events,” said Rob Hickson of The Underground Bottle Shop. “This exhibition offers our customers a chance to experience the adventure of the high seas without having to travel.”

 

Catto will also preview works from his next assignment, The Company of Shadows by Wayne Carey, a thriller that explores the subculture of Civil War Re-enactors.

 

This exhibit is also a part with the nationwide Inktober movement, which celebrates inked artwork.

The Underground Bottle Shop’s Street Art Exhibition featuring Ed Catto starts at 5:00 pm and runs until 9:00 pm Friday, October 12, 2018.  The Underground Bottle Shop is located at  29 East Genesee Street in Auburn, NY.  For more details, please visit www.undergroundbottleshop.com or call 315-262-5896.

http://www.firstcomicsnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/inktober-logo-600x257.pnghttp://www.firstcomicsnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/inktober-logo-150x64.pngFirst Comics NewsNews
Pulp Illustrations on display starting October 12, 2018   Auburn, NY (October 2, 2018): The Underground Bottle Shop, Auburn’s unique wine, cider and spirits retailer, will be celebrating the art of The Adventures of Captain Graves with a tasting and a month-long exhibition of the interior illustrations of Ed Catto. This...