A new colour version of Alan Moore and Ian Gibson’s all-time feminist classic, Halo Jones, leads an incredible year of graphic novel releases from 2000 AD!

Mixing the old and the new, highlights of 2018’s graphic novel schedule include Moore and Gibson’s timeless world-building, the relentless rampage of the Dark Judges, pocket-sized editions of Judge Dredd classics, and unmissable stand-alone series.

Coloured by beakout Italian newcomer Barbara Nosenzo and published in three volumes this year, Halo Jones is an ordinary unemployed teenager living on a crowded and oppressive housing project floating off the coast of Manhattan. Desperate to leave her humdrum life, she escapes as a stewardess aboard a luxury space-liner but a chance encounter has ramifications far beyond Earth. And after she enlists in a dehumanizing interstellar war she becomes embroiled in an unlikely and complicated romance, her humanity tested and strained as she matures.

The first progressive feminist character in British comics, Halo Jones is a mature masterpiece of characterisation and world-building, and heralded the extraordinary talent of the writer who went on to pen Watchmen and V For Vendetta. Ian Gibson’s superlative art is complemented and energized by Nesenzo’s pitch-perfect new colours in an ideal edition for those yet to dive into Halo’s incredible but utterly relatable world.

The best-selling low price pocket-sized digest editions of Judge Dredd classics move into colour with two all-time great stories in May and August – Dredd teams up with DC Comics’ Batman in the famous Judgement on Gotham while a former Mega-City space marine returns home to find only despair and revenge in Mandroid.

The ever-popular Dark Judges dominate 2018 with two collections. October’s Dominion by John Wagner and Nick Percival follows on from 2015’s Dark Justice and sees the Fearsome Foursome, previously marooned in space, plunge a planet into absolute horror.

The final story in the comic book tie-in to DREDD brings Judge Death to the world of Alex Garland’s gritty, violent 2012 movie. Collected in December, Karl Urban’s version of Dredd confronted with his strangest and most challenging case yet in The Dead World by Arthur Wyatt, Alex De Campi, and Henry Flint.

Collections of the best of the 2000 AD archive continue with secret-agent-turned-secret-weapon M.A.C.H.1, and the first volume of the seminal Future Shocks reveals the extraordinary breadth of 2000 AD’s nursery for new talent for the first time.

Set in a post-war LA where magic is a fact of life, Guy Adams and Jimmy Broxton’s Hope was one of the breakout hits of 2017 and the collection in November is a claustrophobic, atmospheric noir thriller for fans of James Elroy and Vertigo’s Hellblazer, where a magic-wielding private eye investigating the kidnap of a child movie star gets caught in a web of intrigue and betrayal he could never have imagined. All the while being stalked by a nun in a gasmask…

And in October, Alan Grant and Arthur Ranson’s breathtaking Mazeworld will be republished in a larger format Collector’s Edition. Condemned murderer Adam Cadman who as he is hanged finds himself transported to a fantasy world, the executioner’s hood and noose both fixed to his skin. Is Cadman the fabled ‘Hooded Man’ who will overthrow the tyrant of Mazeworld? And what of his comatose body back in the ‘real’ world?

http://www.firstcomicsnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/2000AD-Logo-600x253.pnghttp://www.firstcomicsnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/2000AD-Logo-150x63.pngFirst Comics NewsNews
A new colour version of Alan Moore and Ian Gibson’s all-time feminist classic, Halo Jones, leads an incredible year of graphic novel releases from 2000 AD! Mixing the old and the new, highlights of 2018’s graphic novel schedule include Moore and Gibson’s timeless world-building, the relentless rampage of the Dark...